Click here to make 8TH ID your Default Home Page 


Area: 21,431.7 sq km
Population: 3.9 million
Provinces: 6
Cities: 4
Municipalities: 139

At present, the AOR of the 8th Infantry (STORM TROOPERS) Division, Philippine Army covers the whole of Eastern Visayas (Islands of Samar, Leyte and Biliran). It comprises of six (6) provinces, four (4) cities, one hundred thirty nine (139) municipalities and four thousand four hundred twenty one (4,421) barangays or 10% of the total barangays nation wide. It has a total registered population of 3.9 million as of 2000 census and a land area of 21,431.7 square kilometers which represents 7.2% of the country's total land area. The Regional Center is the City of Tacloban, around 107 kms south from this headquarters.

About Samar

What is now Eastern Samar was the first area of the Philippines sighted by Magellan on March 16, 1521. Magellanīs crew called the islandīs lofty mountains Zamal. The Spaniards, however, anchored at the tiny island of Homonhon on the southern part of the province. During the early days of the Spanish rule, the province of Samar was called "Ibabao". The towns of Borongan, Sulat and Balangiga became religous centers. Borongan was also a center of trade and a military outpost of Spain in the Pacific Ocean. The province of Eastern Samar was created june 19, 1965, which divided Samar Island into tree provinces.



Email for comments and suggestions
Copyright 2005 - 8th Signal Battalion, 8ID, PA